# FREELAND PARISH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF FREELAND PARISH COUNCIL HELD REMOTELY VIA ZOOM DUE TO ONGOING CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC, ON MONDAY 17<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2021, AT 7.30PM IN THE COUNTY OF OXFORDSHIRE.

**PRESENT:** Councillors: Roger Faulkner, Mary Ann Canning, Peter

Foster, Mary Ann Canning, Bill Phillips, Amy

Jackson.

District Councillors: Alaa Al-Yousuf, Merilyn Davies.

County Councillor: Not present.
Clerk: Lisa Smith
Presiding Chairman: Peter Newell

Four members of the public were also present – Kenny Wylie, Christian Silk, Andrew Bain and Tony Tomkys.

#### 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

There being no other nominations, Roger Faulkner, proposed by Peter Foster, seconded by Bill Phillips, was unanimously elected Chairman for the coming year. The outgoing Chairman, Peter Newell, was then thanked for everything he had done for the Parish Council over the years and Peter then left the meeting at 7.35pm. Roger Faulkner then took over the position as Chairman.

### 2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

There being no other nominations, Mary Ann Canning, proposed by Peter Foster, seconded by Bill Phillips, was unanimously elected Vice-Chairman for the coming year.

- 3. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE: None.
- 4. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST FOR MATTERS TO BE CONSIDERED** none.

# 5. APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE PARISH COUNCIL ON THE VILLAGE HALL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Bill Phillips' re -appointment as representative for the Parish Council on the Village Hall Management Committee was confirmed.

### 6. EYNSHAM CONSOLIDATED CHARITY

It was noted that Mike Foster's 4-year term as representative of the Parish Council to serve as a trustee on the Eynsham Consolidated Charity would continue until 17<sup>th</sup> January 2025.

## 7. APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL AUDITOR

Councillors confirmed the re-appointment of Brian Wildblood as the Parish Council's Internal Auditor.

### 8. APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES/WORKING GROUPS

It was agreed that the membership of all 3 groups would be reviewed at the ordinary meeting as more Councillors may be co-opted to the Council at that meeting.

- (a) <u>Garden of Remembrance Working Group</u>: Current members were Mary Ann Canning (Chair), Peter Newell, Bill Phillips, Tim Webster and Matthew Ruddle. As Peter, Tim and Matthew had all left the Council, they would not continue as members of this group.
- **(b)** <u>Internal Audit</u>: Last year Peter Newell and Robert Crocker carried out the review, so two representatives needed to be appointed to carry out the internal audit review this year. It was agreed this could be done at the ordinary meeting.

- (c) <u>Planning</u>: Current members were Peter Newell, Mary Ann Canning, Peter Foster and Véro McCoy. As Peter and Véro had left the Council they would not continue as members of this group.
- (d) <u>Parish Transport Representative</u>: Councillors confirmed the re-appointment of Peter Leigh as the Parish Transport Representative as long as he was happy to continue in this role the Clerk would check with him.

There being no other business the meeting ended at 7.43pm